IAA 2016 Convention Press Release


Indiana Auctioneers Gather for Annual Convention

Auctioneers from across the state convened this past weekend for the Indiana Auctioneers Association (IAA) annual conference.  The conference, held this year at Swan Lake Resort in Plymouth, IN, ran November 3-5 with the Title Sponsors of Schrader Real Estate and Auction Company.    

Highlights of this year’s conference included the, Indiana Champion Auctioneer Competition, Auction Marketing Awards, Hall of Fame Inductions, the Presidential Luncheon and the election of the Board of Directors.

Throughout the weekend, Auctioneers were presented with dynamic and engaging educational seminars from industry leading Auctioneers and presenters.

The Indiana Champion Auctioneer Competition had 22 contestants competing for the title.  Justin Croy of Culver, IN was crowned the 2016 Indiana Senior Champion Auctioneer.  Laura Mantle, Columbus, OH was named Senior Reserve Champion, and Tanner Lewis was named Senior First Runner-Up.  Jordan Gilkerson of Monrovia, IN was crowned the 2016 Indiana Junior Champion Auctioneer.  Kalen Poe, Franklin, IN was named Junior Reserve Champion and Taylor Knotts, Danville, IN was named Junior First Runner-Up.

The highest award conveyed to an Auctioneer in Indiana is an election into the Indiana Auctioneer’s Hall of Fame. Mike Mensendiek, Columbus, IN was elected into this year’s Hall of Fame class.  Jan Smith of Terre Haute, IN was inducted into the IAA Auxiliary Hall of Fame.

The IAA held their annual election of officers at that annual membership business meeting, electing Chip Kugler, Jasper, IN-President 2017, Seth Seaton of Indianapolis – President Elect, Jonathan Baker of Evansville –Vice President, Mark Bisch, Kokomo, IN – Secretary/Treasurer. Newly Elected Directors: Chad Metzger, Wabash, IN and Rusty Harmeyer, Richmond IN.